Salt+ IceCream= ?

I happened to be reading an article on a film and television website, something else I love- although clearly not as much as food, and came upon some interesting. One of the character’s on the show Mad Men in the most recent episode was seen putting salt on his ice cream. Strange? Yes. Tasty? Possibly…

I had to find out. The article contended that salt could in fact bring out the creaminess in ice cream and even in lower quality ice cream make it a little more flavorful.

Never lacking in some low quality ice cream, now that wrestlings over that is, I whipped out my Breyers.

Put some salt on it and while ice creams all ready so damn good its hard to notice, just a little bit of salt- a few pinches, does do worlds of good for the creaminess of the ice cream.

… I of course then felt the need to test the effects of dumping huge amounts of salt on the ice cream…. I wouldn’t recommend it, salty ice cream not so good.

In moderation, however, I’d say it’s worth a try.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

